1. The Story Thus Far
    1. Paralogue: The Dawn Maiden
    2. Paralogue: The Young Lion
    3. Chapter 20: The Kingless Castle
  2. Current Rating
  3. Conclusion

The Story Thus Far

Well, more DLC dropped since the last time I played. There’s apparently a new Xenologue or something but I couldn’t find it. The wording made it seem like we’re getting new characters, not rings (thank you!), so I’m looking forward to seeing what new whacky character(s) we get. The third image up above shows free stuff that everyone could get from the Nintendo eShop, with or without the expansion pass. Other than that, nothing worthwhile was added this time.

Paralogue: The Dawn Maiden

This is Micaiah’s map. It was pretty uneventful. There’s nothing I can really say since I was in and out in no time. However, I did overthink my strategy for this map. There were a lot of cannons scattered throughout so I was planning on making a wall with my characters and then have my archers snipe the enemies, but that’s not how it went. First off, I didn’t bring proper units to comprise my wall. Second, some units were too far away to be able to join the wall and comprise it as well. Third, none of that mattered because Micaiah was easy breezy. Guess I should have played through the map earlier.

Paralogue: The Young Lion

This is Roy’s map. It was more fun than Micaiah’s map. I decided to add another layer of difficulty, so I limited the units I took. My team comprised of: Me, Ivy, Hortensia, and Chloé. The team is all flyers, including me! Two Pegasus riders and two Wyvern riders. I forgot Rosado is also a Wyvern rider since I barely use him, but next time! I’m thinking of running special teams each map just to add some spice to these stale maps.

The map wasn’t too difficult, but reinforcements kept flying in every few turns from multiple directions so that made me use all two of my braincells to keep Hortensia safe since she’s delicate. Roy also had an ability called “Holdout+++” which made him survive on 1HP twice. Not too bad, but like I said Hortensia is week so I had to make sure she wasn’t in Roy’s reach or in any Wyvern rider’s reach.

Chapter 20: The Kingless Castle

Man has seen some things

Finally moving the story along. I hope I’m near the end. Upon Marni’s and Mauvier’s return, Zephia is big mad that they lost two rings. Zephia not only smacks Marni, but attacks Marni and Mauvier leaving them out of the picture for a bit. Griss didn’t talk for a while and the guy just looked shocked. He has a thing for pain, so he was probably wishing it was him.

For this chapter we only had to deal with Griss and some underlings. The map started off promising because Griss was supposed to move around the map in the cover of darkness and catch you by surprise. The only worked once before he returned to the usual safe spot. Bummer, that could have kept me on my toes. He did start moving a bit sooner than I was expecting him to, but I just flew right to him and had Pandreo back me up.

In the end we get Celica back and find out that our protagonist is Sombron’s child! HAHAHAHA. Basically, red hair = proof of Fell Dragon and blue hair = proof of Divine Dragon. Also, Divine Dragons pray to summon an Emblem and Fell Dragons use an incantation to summon Emblems, which robs them of free will. However, since our mother gave us her powers, we’re halfsies and we can still summon Emblems while keeping their free will intact and allowing them to talk and stuff. Our MC was having an existential crisis and I just couldn’t care less. I have ZERO attachment to this MC and thus don’t care.

Also, you know who else ended up being the child of the main baddie? ROBIN from Awakening. I’m convinced this is just a reimagining of Awakening with new characters and shiny whistles to keep die-hard fans at bay.

Current Rating

My previous rating reduced the game down to 8.6 out of a possible 10 points. Each post I’ll update the rating and give my reasoning behind my changes. The changes can be both positive and negative.

  • I’m going to subtract .1 points because there is ZERO creativity in this story. It’s just a rehashing of Awakening.

Current rating: 8.5 out of 10

Conclusion

While the DLC breathes in new life to the game, it’s still not enough to justify the price I paid for the game and expansion pass. I will admit that the game can get pretty entertaining once I get into it, but the writing is so bad it has me rooting for the villains. The plot is just Awakening but with different characters and titles. I still haven’t formed any emotional attachment to the MC, so their plights are irrelevant to me. I have zero reason for rooting for them. Apart from the half-assed story, this isn’t that bad of a game. The mechanics of gameplay are well polished, gameplay is more fast paced, and support conversations don’t last as long as a novel. You can find my previous post here.